Horse Guards Parade
Horse Guards Parade
Photograph © James Waudby

Horse Guards Parade

5. Toads 4.53
Lyrics: Philip Larkin
Music: James Waudby
Produced: Horse Guards Parade/John Spence
Recorded: Fairview Studios, 31 March 2010

At the time of recording the all night north album, Horse Guards Parade were James Waudby (guitar/vocals), Chris Evans (bass), Jason Heslewood (guitar), Carl Hogarth (keys), and Robin Marrs (drums). The band were formed in the summer of 2008 and released their first EP in March 2009. With influences that include Tom Waits, Jimmy Webb, Robert Wyatt, Chet Baker, Harry Nilsson, Gram Parsons, and Neil Young, their album 10 Songs was released in April 2011.

Songwriter James Waudby first came to public attention in the late 1990s with his band Salako, who had a number of releases with Jeepster Records (and played a session for the revered John Peel in 1998). He subsequently went on to form The Sorry Loves, and The Cuckoos. James also plays guitar for the Lexington (US) based band Marble Valley.