Philip Larkin reads The Less Deceived – 60th anniversary commemorative CD

£8.00 (including postage to destinations within the UK)

Released on Sunday 9 August 2015


Issued to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the publication of the text version of The Less Deceived, and released on 9th August (Larkin’s birthday) 2015, this is a newly digitized version of Listen Records vinyl LP recording: Philip Larkin reads The Less Deceived.

It comes in a card sleeve with a 12 page insert booklet with notes by James L. Orwin. The recording is taken from one of the original vinyl LPs, but concerted efforts have been made to minimize noise and clicks. If listened to though headphones, the ‘poltergeist background’ about which Larkin complained (as described in the insert booklet) is clearly audible; but so are some of the clicks of the stylus on imperfect vinyl. There are no jumps where parts of the reading are missing due to words being skipped over because of defects in the vinyl.


Gipsyville Girls —EP — by Jim Orwin

£4.00 (including postage to destinations within the UK)

Released on Saturday 16 May 2015


  1. Gipsyville Girls
  2. Half-ballad for Bobby Pearce
  3. All These Break-ups

All songs written by James L. Orwin.
Recorded April 9, 11, 28; 2015, at Fairview Studios, Great Gutter Lane West, Willerby, East Riding of Yorkshire.
Mixed and Mastered: by John Spence, April, 2015.
Engineered by: John Spence.
Drums: John Milton
Bass: Mike Cox
Keyboards: Ian Sunderland
Electric Guitars: Dave Rushby
Acoustic Guitars, Vocals: Jim Orwin

Produced by: Jim Orwin (with guidance from John Spence)


Philip Larkin’s ‘To Failure’—CD single — by Jim Orwin

£5.00 (including postage to destinations within the UK)

Released on Friday 14 May 2015

This is a musical setting of Philip Larkin’s poem ‘To Failure’, for guitar and voice.
To Failure (James L. Orwin/Lyrics by Philip Larkin]
Recorded 21 April 2010 at Fairview Studios, Willerby.
Produced by: John Spence and Jim Orwin.
Engineered by: John Spence.
Mixed and Mastered by: John Spence, April, 2010.

All Night North – songs to words by Philip Larkin

£10.00 (including postage to destinations within the UK)

Released on Saturday 12 June 2010

Issued in 2010 as part of the Larkin25 activities commemorating the 25th anniversary of Philip Larkin’s death, the all night north CD contains 12 new songs using words by Philip Larkin as lyrics.

Some of the best songwriters from Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire were asked to compose songs for inclusion on the CD. The songwriters involved represent a variety of genres; and among the poems set to music are ‘Mr Bleaney’, ‘Far Out’, ‘Annus Mirabilis’ and even ‘The Dance’.